Hotkeys: Hold CTRL + X CutCopyV PasteBoldUnderlineItalicZ UndoY Redo
Last edited by David Soul Sep 10, 2008 MintoCup

Minto Cup


The Minto Cup is awarded annually to the champion junior men's lacrosse team of Canada. 


It was donated in 1901 by the Governor General of Canada Lord Minto, and was originally ( from 1901 to 1909) awarded to the senior men's champion of Canada.


From 1910 to 1924 the Minto Cup was awarded to the professional championship of Canada. (with the Mann Cup  becoming emblematict for the senior men's national championship.


The Minto Cup professional competition was dominated by the  New Westminster Salmonbellies who held the trophy for 21 of the 29 years in which it was contested.


When the British Columbia Coast Lacrosse Association professional league folded in 1924, the trophy was placed in storage by the Minto Cup Trustees and for a time lost and forgotten when the last trustee died in 1934. The trophy was located just prior to the 1937 junior lacrosse junior competition and the Lord Minto of the day transferred it to the Canadian Lacrosse Association, which decided to award it as the trophy for the national junior men's champion. Originally, this competition was between all-star provincial teams formed by adding players to the provincial champion but  in  1960 this practice was abandoned and the trophy was placed in competetion between the Junior A provincial champions of British Columbia and Ontario.  It is currently played for by the respective Junior A champions of British Columbia, Alberta, and Ontario

Minto Cup Junior champions 1937 - present

1937 Orilla Terriers

1938 Mimico Mountaineers

1939 no decision

 1940 Ontario All-stars 

no competition

no competition
no competition
 no competition
 no competition
no competition 

1947 St. Catharines Athletics

1948 Vancouver Burrards

1949 Vancouver Norburn Eagletime 

1950 St. Catharines Athletics 1951 Mimico Mountaineers 1952 Brampton Excelsiors 1953 New Westminster Salmonacs  1954 Vancouver PNE 
1955 Long Branch Monarchs 1956 Vancouver No 177 Legionnaires  1957 Brampton ABC's 1958 Brampton ABC's  1959 Brampton ABC's
1960 N. Westminster Salmonbellies 1961 Hastings Legionnaires 1962 Victoria Shamrocks 1963  Oshawa Green Gaels 1964 Oshawa Green Gaels
1965 Oshawa Green Gaels 1966 Oshawa Green Gaels 1967 Oshawa Green Gaels

1968 Oshawa Green Gaels 

1969 Oshawa Green Gaels 

1970 Lakeshore Maple Leafs 1971  Richmond Roadrunners 1972  Peterborough PCO's 1973 Peterborough PCO's 1974 Peterborough PCO's
1975 Peterborough Gray Munros 1976 Victoria McDonalds  1977 Burnaby Cablevision 1978 Burnaby Cablevision  1979 Burnaby Cablevision 
1980  Whitby CBC Builders 1981 Peterborough James Gang  1982 Peterborough James Gang 1983 Peterborough James Gang 1984 Whitby Warriors
1985 Whitby Warriors  1986 Peterborough Maulers 1987 Peterborough Maulers 1988 Esquimalt Legion 1989 Peterborough Maulers
1990 St. Catharines Athletics 1991 St. Catharines Athletics 1992 Six Nations Arrows  1993  Orangeville Northmen 1994 N. Westminster Salmonbellies 
1995 Orangeville Northmen 1996 Orangeville Northmen 1997 Whitby Warriors  1998 Burnaby Lakers  1999 Whitby Warriors
2000 Burnaby Lakers  2001 St. Catharines Athletics 2002 Burnaby Lakers  2003  St. Catharines Athletics 2004 Burnaby Lakers 
2005 Burnaby Lakers  2006 Peterborough Lakers 2007 Six Nations Arrows 


Minto Cup Senior Champions (1901-1909)


1901 Ottawa Capitals

1901 Montreal Shamrocks

1902 Montreal Shamrocks

1903 Montreal Shamrocks

1904  Montreal Shamrocks

 1905 Montreal Shamrocks

 1906 Ottawa Capitals

1907 Montreal Shamrocks

1908 New Westminster Salmonbellies

 1909 New Westminster Salmonbellies

Minto Cup Professional Champions (1910-1924)

1910 N. Westminster Salmonbellies

1911 Vancouver Lacrosse Club

1912 N. Westminster Salmonbellie

1913 N. Westminster Salmonbellies

1914  N. Westminster Salmonbellies

1915 N. Westminster Salmonbellies

no competition
no competition

1918  Vancouver Greenshirts 

claim disputed by New Westminster

1919  N. Westminster Salmonbellies

1920  Vancouver Terminals

1921  N. Westminster Salmonbellies

1922 N. Westminster Salmonbellies

1924 N. Westminster Salmonbellies

won by default

 1925 to 1936 no competition for trophy; placed in storage by Trustee (New Westminster Salmonbellies claims the titles for these years of non-competition)


Return to
Previous Page